In my last life, I was an Indie rocker…

Posted: September 7, 2010 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s Fall 1997. The band that i’d spent the last year with split suddenly as the singer did what singers do, which is flake out and leave town. I was playing with another friend of mine, but that wasn’t feeling right to me musically, so I had to let him down and flake out on him. Add to that a floundering relationship with my girlfriend, and you begin to understand the state i was in when i stumbled across an ad for a drummer in The Rocket (R.I.P.).

I didn’t know what i wanted to play, or if i even wanted to continue playing my drums at all, but I liked the ad so i thought i’d give it a try. It caught my eye specifically because it DID NOT list the usual trendy influences. It merely said something to the effect of ‘looking for drummer with open mind, no hangups and experimentally inclined’, so i gave them a ring…

I went to meet up and jam with these guys and though i didn’t hit it off musically right away, there was something about these 3 that i liked a lot. I decided that i would keep coming over to play as long as they kept asking me to…

It’s hard to remember when social media did not play a huge part in a band’s life, but these were those days. There was no Facebook, we had flyers and made phone calls. There was no MySpace, we made tapes and 7″ vinyl and handed them out. There was no YouTube, we had public access television, so we made a movie!

We were RADIO HAIKU

Enjoy.





ToeZoo
Mixologist
Party 934

Comments
  1. Boat says:

    I wish I was hanging out with you back then. Alas and alack, I was living in Waco, Texas, at the time.

  2. Brian says:

    Ah – good times!

Leave a Reply

