More years ago than I’d care to say, I was sitting with some friends watching actual music videos on MTV (that should tell you how long ago…). The Stone Roses came on with their video for “I Wanna Be Adored“, and all I could think was “What the fuck is this, and who do these guys think they are?”. I loathed the attitude! Even the way they walked in the video bothered me!

But I could not shake the tune. It stuck in my head for days until it forced me to my musical knees, broke me down, and made me go buy the tape! It was their self-titled debut and it was and still is one of the greatest things i’ve ever heard…

The Stone Roses unfortunately only put out 2 albums, the 2nd one being quite unfairly unpopular, so their debut has been re-issued, re-packaged and re-evaluated to death. Add to that, multiple best-of’s and you’re beginning to get the picture. In fact, another ‘best-of’ is set for release this week!

But that’s not why i’m writing this. I’m writing because The Raveonettes have done a delicious cover of “I Wanna Be Adored”…

Great cover, even if it sounds like it is ALSO from 20 years ago…
You can download that track for free HERE!
No idea what either band has to do with Doc Martins, but maybe it’s some sort of retro-campaign, no?

Shit, while we’re reminiscing… let’s watch the original, shall we?

Ahhhh…that feels gooooooooooddd…

Tony
Media Producer
PlayNetwork, Inc.

Leave a Reply

