Tz’s Daily Dose: Music Biography List (Part 2)

Posted: August 26, 2010 in The Dose
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Continuing from Part 1, this is a purge of useless, yet enjoyable knowledge that is my music biography collection…

Elliott Smith & The Big Nothing is a must read. Again, we unfortunately know how the story ends, but this book helps us to understand why it ended the way it did. What more can I say? Elliott Smith was a genius that left us far too soon. I even stayed away from the Elliott bandwagon for a few years, but once i let myself in i couldn’t leave. Great songs for days and days, so just listen, read and mourn…

Here’s Elliott with one of his best, as well as one of his most doleful, “Waltz #2″…

Suede were another great band from my 20’s, but they’ve not aged well over the years for me. Like New Order before them, i find the music mostly insufferable these days. That doesn’t mean i can leave them behind however, and like everyone on this list, i needed to learn more about what made this band tick. Especially as their guitarist and half of the songwriting team left after just 2 albums, only to be replaced by his tubby doppelganger. I read this so long ago, that it’s difficult to remember whether or not i liked it, but Love & Poison is, so far, the only bio i’ve seen on these boys. If you, like me, used to sit in your dark apartment with this band at full volume, then this is the book for you!

Here’s the original line-up with “So Young”…

When I was 15, I loved the Red Hot Chili Peppers. By the time I was 20, I loathed the Red Hot Chili Peppers. That said, i’ve always kept tabs on them. Through multiple guitarists, multiple tattoos & multiple albums this band just will not die! After reading Scar Tissue, I believe it’s all down to the stubborn will of Anthony Kiedis. He too will just not die, and that’s a good thing. This is hands down the best book of the bunch! Reveal, reveal, reveal was his mantra during the writing process I’m sure, because that’s what you get and it’s fascinating. This book is about a man, not a band, and anyone could, and everyone should read this!

I had trouble with the idea of including a RHCP video here, but then i realized that it’d have to be an old one for me to enjoy, so here is “Show Me Your Soul”. The guitar solo at the end of this is transcendent…

stay tuned for the conclusion…

Tony
Media Producer
PlayNetwork, Inc.

Comments
  1. […] List (Part 3) August 27, 2010 toezoo Leave a comment Go to comments Concluding from the previous post, this is all about the joy of reading and learning what cannot be known; what makes the artist […]

Leave a Reply

